What exactly are you looking at when you are arrested for a DUI? Will you receive a slap on the wrist and a possible license suspension for a couple of days? Could you be sent to prison? Will this impact your ability to work? The truth is that every case is different; however, there are certain rules in place across the state that will hold true in most instances. Knowing the hidden DUI penalties in Georgia can help you see how serious this accusation can be and how important it is to get legal assistance as soon as possible.
DUI Penalties in Georgia
There are a number of penalties for driving over the blood alcohol level limit of .08 (if over 21). This can include:
If you are over the age of 21 and facing your first DUI, you could be looking at:
- 20 hours minimum jail time
- A fine of $300 to $1000
- I year driver’s license suspension, including your commercial driver’s license
- 40 hours community service
If you are over the age of 21 and facing your second DUI, you could be looking at:
- 72 hours minimum jail time
- A fine of $600 to $1000
- 3 years license suspension, including commercial driver’s license, with possible reinstatement after 12 months
- 30 days community service
If you are over the age of 21 and facing your third DUI, you could be looking at:
- 15 days prison time
- A fine of $1000 to $5000
- 5 years license revocation (with possible reinstatement after 24 months)
- 30 days of community service
Why Are the Penalties So Harsh and What Are the Long Term Consequenses
Our law makers have tried to prevent tragedies with newer and tougher DUI laws and penalties. If you are convicted of DUI, you will face the penalties mentioned above. Outside of the courtroom, you could also face loss of employment, difficulty getting new employment, higher insurance rates, school or professional license applications denied also immigration and travel can also be affected.
Fighting to Protect Your Driver’s License after a DUI Arrest
There are several factors that will be considered when it comes to a DUI arrest and conviction. These penalties are not set in stone and what you are faced with will depend entirely on the defense tactic you take. It is completely possible to walk away from a drunk driving arrest with a not guilty verdict and no damage done. However, you need to act fast.
First and foremost, you have 10 days to challenge the charge from the time of your arrest. This means you have ten days to contact a DUI defense lawyer and file an administrative hearing to avoid community service, prison time, fines and a loss of license.
Contact Tom Barton an Experienced Defense Lawyer
An experienced defense attorney understands the laws and the possible legal challenges that are available to strengthen your case. Tom Barton offers an affordable way to avoid a serious criminal conviction after a DUI arrest. When you contact Tom Barton you will get an attorney who is honest and forthright about your case and the likely outcome. Most importantly, he cares about what happens to you and your future. Contact him today for a Free Consultation and review of your pending DUI Case at 770-961-7400. We are available around the clock to answer your questions and assist you with your case.