The laws are strict regarding DUI arrests across the state of Georgia. DUI refers to driving under the influence and generally refers to alcohol. However, you could also be pulled over and tested to see if there are any other drugs in your system. Driving while high, stoned or any illegal or even legally prescribed drugs is a serious criminal offense.
If you have been pulled over for a suspected DUI, then there are two ways in which you could be arrested and possibly charged:
- The officer must show that the driver has .08 grams or more blood alcohol concentration within three hours, during or after, driving. This can be done through blood, urine and breath tests.
- The officer must prove that the driver has alcohol and/or other intoxicants that have caused dangerous or reckless driving. This is often done through a field sobriety test.
Many people assume that a first time DUI offense is no big deal. Sure, you’ll lose your license for a week and have to pay a small fine. It’s not this simple. Without the assistance of an attorney, even first time offenders face:
- Up to $1,000.00 fine
24 hours to 1 year in jail
- DUI School
- 40 Hours of Community Service
- 1 Year Probation
- 1 Year License Suspension
For a multiple DUI conviction, you could be looking at:
- $1000 to $5000 in fines
- 90 days to 5 years in prison
- 30 days community service
- Mandatory Alcohol Evaluation and/or Treatment
- Up to 1 Year Probation
- 3 to 5 Year Loss of License
- Ignition Interlock Device
You have 30 days to do something about it – don’t wait until it’s too late. Contact a Henry DUI drug lawyer as soon as possible.
Keep in mind that driving under the influence doesn’t just refer to driving while drunk. You could also be charged with a DUI and face serious drug charges against you if you are caught behind the wheel under the influence of illegal or prescription drugs. Furthermore, if you are caught in possession of these drugs, then you are not only looking at a DUI offense but also a drug crime charge.
The penalties for a drug crime will depend on a number of factors including how much you have on you, what the drug is and what the intent is. Penalties for purchasing, possessing, manufacturing, delivering, distributing, selling, or possessing with the intent to distribute any controlled substance may be punishable by imprisonment for not less than two years or more than 15 years. However, this is only a general guideline. Just because you have been caught driving while stoned and the police has found a small amount of marijuana on you doesn’t mean you are automatically going to prison for 15 years – it all depends on your defense tactic and your individual circumstances.
Attorney Tom Barton has more than twenty years of experience defending cases like yours within the entire state of Georgia including Clayton County, Fayette County, Coweta County, DeKalb County, Henry County, Newton County, Rockdale County, Spalding County, Butts County, Henry County, Fulton County, Walton County and surrounding areas.