Getting your license is one of the most exciting things to happen to most teenagers. Finally you have the freedom to get behind the wheel and go! However, if you are under the age of 21 there are a lot of rules that apply to you on the roads. Furthermore, the law is also a lot stricter on drivers under the age of 21.
Because of the statistics surrounding speeding, drinking and driving and car accidents for those under the age of 21 and because of the lack of experience on the road, if you are ever caught doing something illegal on the roads, then you could be faced with an automatic license suspension.
If you are convicted of a traffic violation such as a speeding ticket or underage DUI arrest, then you could be looking at a license suspension. In many instances you won’t even realize that you are at risk of losing your license until you have already paid the fine and then receive a letter in the mail explaining that your license has been suspended for 6 months.
There are ways around this. You can speak to a defense attorney that has experience in traffic violation defense about what you can do to remain on the roads. You have 10 days to file an administrative hearing to challenge the suspension and remain on the road. During this time, do not pay your ticket. Instead, let us decide what the right thing to do is. We offer a free initial consultation to discuss your legal rights and determine what is best for you.
1 Year Suspension For The Following Traffic Tickets
If you are under 21 and commit one of the following offenses you could also lose your license for up to a year:
- Speeding greater than 24 miles an hour over the posted speed limit
- Reckless driving
- Aggressive driving
- Minor drug possessions
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Fleeing and eluding
Underage Drinking and DUI Offenses
When you are under the age of 21 and caught with any amount of alcohol in your system, then you could be charged with a DUI. It doesn’t matter if you only had a sip of beer – you could still be convicted. Under 21 DUI convictions can result in:
- 20-40 hours of community service
- Complete suspension of your driver’s license for six months to one year
- one day minimum in jail
What happens in your case will depend on a number of things including whether you have legal representation. Tom Barton can help you out of this situation and ensure the minimal damage to your license, your record and your life.
Save Your License – Contact Defense Attorney Tom Barton Today!
If you are under the age of 21 and have had your license suspended, our law firm can help. Tom Barton has over 20 years experience at negotiating reduced charges to a lesser two-point offense or at having the charges dropped completely. Don’t make the mistake of waiting until it’s too late. Contact Tom Barton, an experienced Georgia DUI defense attorney at 770-961-7400. We are available around the clock to answer your questions and assist you with your case.
Contact Tom Barton, an experienced Georgia criminal defense attorney at 770-961-7400. We are available around the clock to answer your questions and assist you with your case.
For more information visit us here or contact us.