Under 21 Dui Charges in Georgia

Thomas S. Barton, an experienced lawyer in Atlanta, specializes in helping minors involved in DUI cases. His team handles under 21 DUI charges in Georgia.

When you are under the age of 21 it is against the law to have any alcohol in your system. This especially matters when you are behind the wheel. While it is not a criminal offense to have a drink and drive home if you are over the age of 21, as long as your blood tests results are less than .08, it is for minors.

However, when you are under 21, it can be easy to make one minor mistake. You may think you won’t get caught or that you only have a short distance to drive anyway. However, if you are caught behind the wheel after having just one drink or more, then you could get arrested and convicted for a DUI.

When faced with an arrest at such a young age, your entire future can be negatively impacted. Not only are you probably worried about what this means for you in terms of getting a loan, attending a good college and moving out of your parent’s home, but your parents are probably also upset and angry with you. It is important to understand that you do have options and it is possible that this one mistake will be erased from your record and your life. Tom Barton can help you and your family through this.  For over 20 years, his law practice has been representing people in the Atlanta, Ga., area who are under the age of 21 with their underage drinking related legal problems.

Georgia Underage DUI Lawyer

Underage drinking and driving laws are strict to say the least. If your breath test results are under .08, you face the following punishment:

  • 20 hours of community service
  • Complete suspension of your driver’s license for six months

If the breath test results are over .08, you will face more severe punishment including

  • one day minimum in jail
  • 40 hours of community service
  • Complete suspension of your driver’s license for one year

Under 21 Drunk Driving

If you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI), the conviction is going on your record. It is unlike most first-time criminal convictions. DUI is excluded from the types of first-offenses that can be kept off your criminal record. You also face suspension of your driver’s license. If you are facing drunk driving charges, you need an attorney who understands the legal system and will do everything he can to keep you from getting convicted.

Contact a Henry County DUI Attorney Today!

Tom Barton can assist you through this often turbulent and difficult time in your life. Contact Tom Barton, an experienced Georgia multiple DUI defense attorney at 770-961-7400. We are available around the clock to answer your questions and assist you with your case.