Don’t Wait – Act Now! Attorney Barton Saves Clients from the Severe Consequences
It happens – you have a couple of drinks and don’t think it’s enough to make a difference so you drive home instead of taking a cab. Then you are pulled over and in an instant your life can change.
For many people, a DUI arrest is the first time they have ever been arrested and possibly the only trouble they have ever encountered with the law that however does not mean you will have fewer consequences.
DUI Penalties You Could Face for a 1st Offense:
- Jail Time
- 1 Year of Probation
- DUI Classes
- Loss of Your License
- 40 Hours of Community Service
- Hefty Fines and Court Costs
- Substance Abuse Evaluation
There are several things that are probably going through your mind.
- Will I go to jail?
- How will this impact my personal and professional life?
- How long will I lose my license?
- Will this conviction remain on my record forever?
The penalties for a DUI conviction in Georgia can be harsh even if it’s your 1st offense. You could lose your license for up to a year. Hold a CDL? It could be gone the moment you’re arrested.
You may also be facing jail time, pay hefty fines after your arrest and you may also spend the next 12 months on probation.
Perhaps the biggest problem, though, is that a DUI conviction stays on your record for your entire life. Anyone who runs a background check on you will certainly see it. Whether you’re trying to volunteer at your child’s school, obtain a loan or get a job, you’re going to be out in the cold because of your arrest.
Hiring an attorney experienced with 1st offense charges in Georgia is the best thing to do to better understand your case and determine the right legal action to take.
Too many people make the mistake of thinking they can figure out their case on their own. Doing this could have a serious negative effect on your future. You best defense against any drunk driving charge, even if it’s your first offense, is to speak with a qualified and experienced criminal defense attorney.
Criminal Defense Attorney Tom Barton Explains The Consequences of Being Convicted
Attorney Tom Barton explains what will happen if you are convicted of a DUI in Georgia.
Time is Not on Your Side After a DUI Arrest
You have very little time to decide whether you should contact an attorney for DUI defense. First offense, second offense, it doesn’t matter. You have just 10 days to request a license suspension hearing, so it’s essential to hire a qualified attorney now. If you refused the test or you took the test and your result was .08 or greater, you could automatically lose your license for a full year without a special hearing. This is actually treated separately from the criminal proceedings in your case.
Time is running out, but Tom Barton can help immediately. You deserve the chance to protect your license, and Tom will not only get you through the initial hearing, but build a solid defense in your case that can ensure you get the best possible outcome.
Don’t Let a First Time Georgia DUI Charge Ruin Your Life
The laws are tough when it comes to a drunk driving conviction. 1st offense statutes can make things a little easier on you, but the key is to act now. Contact Tom Barton for a consultation session immediately and improve your chances of success. 770-961-7400